Welcome to ERA – Academy of European Law




Shopping basket
Grafik-Link: Button Login.
0 pages
0 articles




13 February 2020 – 13 April 2020

Young Lawyers Contest 2020

Congratulations to all of our participants for taking part in our contest for Young Lawyers.


Foto: Young Lawyers Contest 2020.


On 13-14 February 2020 ERA hosted the second edition of the Young Lawyers Contest in cooperation with the CCBE and the Warsaw Bar Association. #ERAYoungLawyers

Update - Congratulations to the Winning Team 5! This team consisted of Olivia Vansteelant from Belgium, Anu Vuori from Finland and Ognyan Yankov from Bulgaria.

Team 3 were also successful in making the final round and participated in the Moot Court. This team consisted of Clement Claesens from Belgium, Maryna Kapustina from Slovaki, Sofia Stigmar from Sweden and Gierada Adam from Poland.

Thank you to all the participants that took part, we hope you enjoyed the experience and look forward to welcoming you to another ERA event in the future.


The contest is co-funded by the Justice Programme of the European Union 2014-2020- It’s main aim is to bring together future lawyers from different European countries at a time when they are undergoing entry level training to enable them to share common values and to exchange new experiences and discuss new perspectives in areas of common interest.

The Project beneficiaries are trainee and newly qualified lawyers from European Member States. The Bars who supported lawyers participating in this project are the Warsaw Bar Association (Izba Adwokacka w Warszawie), Slovak Bar Association, The Bar of Ireland, Czech Bar Association, Finnish Bar Association, Plovdiv Bar Association and the Lithuanian Bar Association (Lietuvos Advokatūra). 31 contestants from 17 countries were selected and grouped into teams of mixed nationalities.

At each level, a different task was mastered, which took the form of an oral debate, followed by a negotiating exercise on company law, and a moot court exercise on criminal law.

Many thanks to this year's jurors who supported the contest – chosen accordingly to guarantee a reasonable compromise in expertise and legal specialisation.

Ms Antigoni Alexandropoulou, Chair of the Company Law Committee of the CCBE; Lawyer in Private Practice; Assistant Professor of Corporate and Commercial Law, European University Cyprus, Nicosia

Ms Wendy De Bondt, Assistant Professor of criminal law and rights of the child, Faculty of Law and Criminology, Department of Criminology, Criminal Law and Social Law, University of Ghent

Mr Wojciech Bagiński, Lawyer in Private Practice and Chairman of the International Relations Committee, Warsaw Bar Association

Ms Gráinne Gilmore, Barrister, Member of the Bar of Ireland, Dublin

Ms Vanessa Knapp OBE, Independent Consultant; Visiting Professor, Queen Mary University of London

Mr Łukasz Lasek, Partner, Wardynski & Partners law firm, Warsaw

For photos of this event please see the image gallery in the right hand side column.

Interested in applying for the next Young Lawyers Contest?
The next edition of this contest will take place on 4-5 February 2021 and the applications are welcomed between 10 April and 1 July 2020. Successful candidates will be confirmed on 1st September 2020. For more information about the contest please visit our website https://younglawyerscontest.eu/

Mailing List



Image gallery


  • Logo: Facebook
  • Logo: Twitter
  • Logo: Youtube
  • Logo: LinkedIn